Green Did you know a TV, running 5 hrs a day, only uses $21.09 of electricity a year? http://t.co/p7Lgvi24
Video Gary Shapiro discusses the impact of government policies on the economy. http://t.co/KSVebGLZ
CEA Get the big picture with CEA's digital imaging benchmark http://sbne.ws/r/ahyp

State Laws for Electronics Use in the Car

Electronics in the car can get you were you need to go, entertain the kids and help you in an emergency. However it's important to use electronics safely while driving and follow the law. Here is a list of state laws so you know what laws exist for use of electronics in the car.

Alabama Kentucky North Dakota
Alaska Louisiana Ohio
Arizona Maine Oklahoma
Arkansas Maryland Oregon
California Massachusetts Pennsylvania
Colorado Michigan Rhode Island
Connecticut Minnesota South Carolina
Delaware Mississippi South Dakota
District of Columbia Missouri Tennessee
Florida Montana Texas
Georgia Nebraska Utah
Hawaii Nevada Vermont
Idaho New Hampshire Virginia
Illinois New Jersey Washington
Indiana New Mexico West Virginia
Iowa New York Wisconsin
Kansas North Carolina Wyoming


Alabama

Video Screen Restriction
Restrictions on Cell Phone Use for Novice Drivers

Law: No television viewer, screen or other means of visually receiving a television broadcast shall be located in a motor vehicle at any point forward of the back of the driver's seat or in any manner so that the driver of the vehicle can see it while in actual control of the vehicle.
Statute: Code of Ala. § 32-5-219 (2008)
Penalties: No penalty specified.

Law: Prohibits a person with a Stage II restricted driver's license from operating a motor vehicle while operating a handheld communication device.
Statute: HB 65
Penalties: No penalty specified.
[back to top]

Alaska

Video Screen Restriction 
Ban on Texting While Driving
Restrictions on Cell Phone Use for Novice Drivers

Law: Provides a person may not install or alter equipment that allows the images to be viewed by the driver in a normal driving position while the vehicle is in motion. Provides exceptions, including portable cellular telephones or personal data assistants being used for verbal communication, navigation or global positioning systems and vehicle information or controls related to speed, fuel level, battery charge and other vehicle safety or equipment information. A person may not use a personal communications device to text or send email while driving.
Statute: HB 88
Penalties: Class A Misdemeanor, Penalties Not Specified (C felony if the person's driving causes physical injury to another person, Class B If Serious Injury, Class A If Death).

Law: A person under 18 years of age may not use a cellular telephone when driving a motor vehicle on a highway or vehicular way or area.
Statute: HB 15 amending Sec. 28.35.165 - Pending
Penalties: A person who violates this section is guilty of an infraction and may be punished as provided under AS 28.90.010
 
[back to top]

Arizona

Video Screen Restriction
Hands-free Cell Phone Use Only

Law: The driver of a motor vehicle who is at least 18 but under 21 years of age shall not use a handheld wireless telephone for wireless interactive communication while operating a motor vehicle.
Statute: Amendment to Ark 27-51, Act 247 (2009)
Penalties: Warning citation for first offense, second violation $50 fine

Law: A person shall not drive a motor vehicle equipped with a television viewer or screen or any other means of visually receiving a television broadcast that is either located in the motor vehicle at any point forward of the back of the driver's seat or visible, directly or indirectly, to the driver while operating the motor vehicle.
Statute: A.R.S. § 28-963 (2008)
Penalties: No penalty specified.

Law: A person who operates a motor vehicle on a highway shall not use a cellular telephone to engage in a call while the motor vehicle is in motion unless the cellular telephone is equipped with a hands-free device.
Statute: SB 1443 amending Section 1 Title 28 Chapter 3 - Pending
Penalties: Non-moving civil traffic violation - $50.
[back to top]

Arkansas

Hands-free Cell Phone Use Only
Restrictions on Cell Phone Use for Novice Drivers
Cell Phone Ban in School and Highway Work Zones
Ban on Texting While Driving

Law: The driver of a motor vehicle who is at least 18 but under 21 years of age shall not use a handheld wireless telephone for wireless interactive communication while operating a motor vehicle.
Statute: Amendment to Ark 27-51, Act 247 (2009)
Penalties: Warning citation for first offense, second violation $50 fine.

Law: Prohibits drivers of motor vehicles from using handheld wireless telephones to engage in text messaging.
Statute: Paul's Law - Amendment to Ark 27-51, Act 181 (2009)
Penalties: Unspecified violation - $100 fine.

Law: The driver of a motor vehicle who is at least 18 but under 21 years of age shall not use a handheld wireless telephone for wireless interactive communication while operating a motor vehicle.
Statute: Amendment to Ark 27-51, Act 247 (2009)
Penalties: Warning citation for first offense, second violation $50 fine.

Law: Provides for the improved safety of highways and roads by prohibiting wireless telephone use in school zones and highway work zones.
Statute: Amendment to 27-51, Senate Bill 154 (2011)
Penalties: No Penalty Specified.
[back to top]

California

Video Screen Restriction
Hands-free Cell Phone Use Only
Ban on Texting While Driving
Restrictions on Cell Phone Use for Novice Drivers and School Bus Drivers

Law: Prohibits any person from driving a motor vehicle if a video monitor, or a video screen or any other similar device that displays a video signal is operating and is located forward of the driver's seat or is visible to the driver. Provides exceptions for emergency equipment.
Statute: California Vehicle Code §2890 (West 2004)
Penalties: No Penalty Specified.

Law: Prohibits the use of handheld cell phones while driving. Allows exceptions in emergency situations.
Statute: California Vehicle Code §12810.3 and §23123
Penalties: $20 for first offense, $50 for each subsequent offense.

Law: A person shall not drive a motor vehicle while using an electronic wireless communications device to write, send or read a text-based communication
Statute: California Vehicle Code 23123 (2009)
Penalties: Infraction - $20 first offense, $50 for subsequent.

Law: School and transit bus drivers and drivers younger than 18 will be banned for all cell phone use while driving (regardless of hands-freeheadset).
Statute: 2007 California Statutes, Chap. 214
Penalties: $20 for first offense, $50 for each subsequent offense.
[back to top]

Colorado

Restrictions on Cell Phone Use for Novice Drivers
Ban on Texting While Driving

Law: Makes driving a motor vehicle by a person holding a temporary instruction permit or a minor's instruction permit while using a cellular telephone or other mobile communication device a secondary traffic offense.
Statute: Colo. Rev. Statute §42-4-239 (2005)
Penalties: $15 fine plus a $2.60 Surcharge.

Law: A person 18 years of age or older shall not use a wireless telephone for the purpose of engaging in text messaging or other similar forms of manual data entry or transmission while operating a motor vehicle.
Statute: Amending 42-4-239 (2009)
Penalties: $50 fine
[back to top]

Connecticut

Hands-free Cell Phone Use Only
Restrictions on Cell Phone Use for Novice Drivers
Video Screen Restriction
Ban on Texting While Driving

Law: Prohibits the use of handheld cell phones while driving. Provides exceptions in emergency situation. Prohibits drivers with only learner's permits from using a cell phone while driving.
Statute: 2005 Conn. Acts. P.A. 159 (Reg. Sess.)
Penalties: Not more than $100 fine.

Law: Television screens prohibited. Video display instrumentation and closed video monitor for backing permitted. Exceptions for refuse collection.
Statute: Conn. Gen. Stat. § 14-105 (2008)
Penalties: No penalty specified.

Law: prohibits an operator from typing, sending or reading a text message with a hand-held mobile telephone or mobile electronic device while operating a motor vehicle.
Statute: Subst. Senate Bill No. 427 (2010)
Penalties: No penalty specified.
[back to top]

Delaware

Restrictions on Cell Phone Use for Novice Drivers
Ban on Texting While Driving
Hands-free Cell Phone Use Only

Law: Prohibits any minor with a level learner's permit or driver's education learner's permit from using a cell phone or similar device while operating a motor vehicle. Provides exceptions during emergency situations or where the permit holder has stopped the vehicle at a location off the lanes of travel.
Statute: Del. Code. Ann. Tit. 21, §2710 (2005)
Penalties: Young drivers are subject to the same penalties they would face if they were found to be a reckless or negligent driver of a motor vehicle or to have committed a serious moving traffic violation.

Law: Prohibits the use of a handheld phone while driving; including texting
Statute: House Bill 299 (2010)
Penalties: No penalty specified.
[back to top]

District of Columbia

Hands-free Cell Phone Use Only
Restrictions on Cell Phone Use for Novice Drivers
Video Screen Restriction
Ban on Texting While Driving

Law: Prohibits the use of a handheld phone while driving. Prohibits drivers with a learner's permit from using a cell phone while driving completely.
Statute: 2004 D.C. Sat., A15-0311
Penalties: $100 fine for repeat offenders. First time offenders will have their fines suspended, if they submit proof that they have acquired a hands free device.

Law: No television equipment shall be installed in or on any motor vehicle in a manner which will make the reception of the television visible to the vehicle operator while the vehicle is in motion.
Statute: D.C. Code of Municipal Regulations 735.2 9 (2008)
Penalties: No penalty specified.
[back to top]

Florida

Video Screen Restriction

Law: No motor vehicle operated on the highways of this state shall be equipped with television-type receiving equipment so located that the viewer or screen is visible from the driver's seat.
Statute: Fla. Stat. §316.0075 (2005)
Penalties: No penalty specified.

Law: No motor vehicle operated on the highways of this state shall be equipped with television-type receiving equipment so located that the viewer or screen is visible from the driver's seat
Statute: Fla. Stat. § 316.303 (2008)
Penalties: No penalty specified.
[back to top]

Georgia

Cell phone ban for school bus driversand Novice Drivers
Ban on Texting While Driving

Law: Prohibits the use of cell phones while operating a school bus.
Statute: Official Code of Georgia Ann. § 40-6-165 (2007)
Penalties: No penalty specified.

Law: Prohibits the use of a wireless telecommunications device by persons under 18 years of age while operating a motor vehicle.
Statute: HB 23
Penalties: No penalty specified.

Law: Prohibits the use of a wireless telecommunications device to write, send, or read any text based communication while operating a motor vehicle.
Statute: SB 360
Penalties: No penalty specified.
[back to top]

Illinois

Restrictions on Cell Phone Use for Novice Drivers
Ban on Texting While Driving

Law: Prohibits a person under the age of 19 years who holds an instruction permit or a graduated license from driving on a roadway while using a wireless phone, except for emergency purposes, including an emergency call to law enforcement, a health care provider, the fire department or other emergency services entity.
Statute: Public Act No. 95-338; 2007 SB 140
Penalties: No penalty specified.

Law: Person may not operate a motor vehicle on a roadway while using an electronic communication device to compose, send, or read an electronic message.
Statute: Public Act 096-0130
Penalties: No penalty specified.
[back to top]

Indiana

Restrictions on Cell Phone Use for Novice Drivers
Video Screen Restriction
Ban on Texting While Driving

Law: Prohibits a driver under the age of 18 from operating a motor vehicle while using a handheld device.
Statute: H.B. 1112
Penalties: No penalty specified.

Law: A person may not operate a motor vehicle that has a television set installed so that the screen of the television set can be seen by a person sitting in the driver's seat.
Statute: Ind. Code Ann. § 9-19-17-1 (2008)
Penalties: No penalty specified.

Law: Prohibits a person from using a telecommunications device to type, transmit, or read a text message or electronic mail message while operating a moving motor vehicle.
Statute: H.E.1129
Penalties: No penalty specified.
[back to top]

Iowa

Ban on Texting While Driving

Law: Prohibits sending or reading text messages while driving.
Statute: H.F. 2456 (2010)
Penalties: $30 penalty, with additional penalties for offenses that cause injury ($500 in fines and 90-day license suspension) or death ($1,000 in fines and 180-day license suspension).
[back to top]

Kansas

Restrictions on Cell Phone Use for Novice Drivers
Ban on Texting While Driving

Law: The permit holder [under 18] shall not operate a wireless communication device while driving a passenger car.
Statute: Amending K.S.A. 8-235d, 8-239, 8-296, and 8-297
Penalties: Moving traffic violation.

Law: prohibits the composition, sending and reading of a written communication using a wireless communications device while operating a motor vehicle.
Statute: SB 300(2009)
Penalties: No penalty specified.
[back to top]

Kentucky

Restrictions on Cell Phone Use for School Bus Drivers
Ban on Texting While Driving

Law: A person shall not operate a school bus on any highway while using a cellular telephone while the bus is in motion and transporting one or more children; provides an exception for communications made to and from a central dispatch, school transportation department, or its equivalent when the bus is not equipped with a functioning two-way radio; states that a person operating a school bus shall be allowed to use a cellular telephone in the event of an emergency.
Statute: Act No. 138; 2007 HB 230
Penalties: First Offense: $50 fine; Subsequent Offense: $100 fine and shall have his or her school bus endorsement suspended for a period of six months.

Law: Prohibits text messaging by all drivers and the use of cell phones by novice drivers.
Statute: ACT 665
Penalties: The first violation of the provisions of this section shall be punishable by a fine of not more than $175 dollars. Each subsequent violation shall be punishable by a fine of not more than $500. If the person is involved in a crash at the time of violation, then the fine shall be equal to double the amount of the standard fine imposed in this subsection and the law enforcement officer investigating the crash shall indicate on the written accident form that the person was using a wireless telecommunications device at the time of the crash. Any violation of this section shall constitute a moving violation. A law enforcement officer shall enforce the provisions of this section only as a secondary action when the officer detains a driver for an alleged violation of another provision of this chapter.

Law: Prohibits text messaging, instant messaging and e-mailing while operating a motor vehicle.
Statute: HB415 (2010)
Penalties: No penalty specified.
[back to top]

Louisiana

Ban on Texting While Driving
Restrictions on Cell Phone Use for Novice Drivers
Video Screen Restriction
Restrictions on Cell Phone Use for School Bus Drivers

Law: Prohibits text messaging by all drivers and the use of cell phones by novice drivers.
Statute: Act 665 and 666
Penalties: The first violation shall be punishable by a fine of not more than $175. Each subsequent violation shall be punishable by a fine of not more than $500. If the person is involved in a crash at the time of violation, then the fine shall be equal to double the amount of the standard fine imposed.

Law: Prohibits driving a motor vehicle with a television cable of receiving any prerecorded visual presentation unless the TV is behind the driver's seat or not visible to the driver while he or she is operating the vehicle.
Statute: Louisiana Revised Statute 32:365
Penalties: A violation shall be a misdemeanor, and upon conviction, punished by imprisonment for not more than 90 days, or by a fine not exceeding $500, or both, in the discretion of the court.

Law: Prohibits school bus operators from using cell phones while driving
Statute: ACT 355
Penalties: A violation of this section shall be a misdemeanor, and upon conviction, punished by imprisonment for not more than 90 days, or by a fine not exceeding $500, or both, in the discretion of the court.
[back to top]

Maine

Restrictions on Cell Phone Use for Novice Drivers
Video Screen Restriction
Ban on Texting While Driving

Law: Prohibits a person who has not attained 18 years of age from using a cellular telephone while operating a motor vehicle.
Statute: Public Law No. 272; 2007 HB 143
Penalties: First Offense: No less than $50; Subsequent Offense: No less than $250.

Law: A person may not operate a motor vehicle equipped with a television viewer, screen or other means of visually receiving a television broadcast that is visible to the operator. This section does not apply to a law enforcement officer using a video camera or other video equipment for law enforcement purposes.
Statute: 29-A M.R.S. § 1921 (2007)
Penalties: No penalty specified.

Law: A person commits the traffic infraction of failure to maintain control of a motor vehicle if the person commits a […] traffic infraction […], and the person was engaged in the operation of a motor vehicle while distracted.
Statute: Sec. 1. 29-A MRSA §2117
Penalty: Penalty for traffic violation caused by distraction.

Law: Prohibits a person from operating a motor vehicle while engaged in text messaging.
Statute: Sec. 1. 29-A MRSA §2119
Penalties: First Offense: No less than $100.
[back to top]

Maryland

Restrictions on Cell Phone Use for Novice Drivers
Video Screen Restriction
Ban on Texting While Driving
Hands-free Cell Phone Use Only


Law: Prohibits holder of a learner's permit or provisional license who is under age 18 from using a wireless communications device while operating a motor vehicle.
Statute: Md. Transportation Code Ann. 21-1123 (2005)
Penalties: May suspend a violator's license up to 90 days and issue a restricted license.

Law: A motor vehicle driven on a highway may not be equipped with television-type receiving equipment in front of the back of the driver's seat or otherwise visible to the driver (exceptions for nNavigation system).
Statute: Md. Transporation Code Ann. § 22-414 (2008)
Penalties: No penalty specified.

Law: Prohibits a person from operating a motor vehicle while engaged in text messaging.
Statute: Md. Transportation Code Ann. 21-1124 (2011)
Penalties: No penalty specified.

Law: Prohibits a driver of a motor vehicle that is in motion from using the driver's hands to use a handheld telephone except under specified circumstances
Statute: Md. Transportation Code Ann. 21-1124.2 (2010)
Penalties: No penalty specified.
[back to top]

Massachusetts

Restrictions on Cell Phone Use for School Bus Drivers
Video Screen Restriction
Ban on Texting While Driving

Law: No person shall drive any motor vehicle equipped with any television viewer, screen or other means of visually receiving a television broadcast which is located in the motor vehicle at any point forward of the back of the driver's seat, or which is visible to the driver while operating such motor vehicle.
Statute: ALM GL ch. 90, § 13 (2008)
Penalties: No penalty specified.

Law: Prohibits operators of a motor vehicle holding a junior operators license from using a mobile telephone, a hands-free mobile telephone or a mobile electronic device while operating a motor vehicle on any public way. Prohibits the use a mobile telephone, mobile electronic device, or other device capable of accessing the internet to compose, send, or read an electronic message while operating such vehicle.
Statute: H.B4795
Penalties: No penalty specified.
[back to top]

Michigan

Video Screen Restriction
Ban on Texting While Driving

Law: A person shall not operate a motor vehicle that is to be used upon the highways with a television or other similar electronic device that displays a video image that can be viewed by the operator while the motor vehicle is in motion.
Statute: MCLS § 257.708b (2008)
Penalties: A civil infraction.

Law: Prohibits text messaging while operating a motor vehicle using a mobile communication device located in the person's hand or lap. Excludes GPS navigation systems. Provides for exceptions when using in emergency situations.
Statute: H.B. 4394 (2009)
Penalties: For a first violation, $100.00.For a second or subsequent violation, $200.00.
[back to top]

Minnesota

Ban on Texting While Driving
Restrictions on Cell Phone Use for Novice Drivers
Video Screen Restriction

Law: Provides that no person may operate a motor vehicle while using a wireless communications device to compose, read, or send an electronic message, when the vehicle is in motion or a part of traffic. Provides exceptions when a wireless communications device is used: (I) solely in a voice-activated or other hands-free mode; (ii) for making a cellular phone call; (iii) for obtaining emergency assistance to report a traffic accident, medical emergency, or serious traffic hazard, or prevent a crime about to be committed; (iv) in the reasonable belief that a person's life or safety is in immediate danger; or (v) in an authorized emergency vehicle while in the performance of official duties.
Statute: H.F. 3800
Penalties: No penalty specified.

Law: Prohibits drivers under age 19 who have a provision license or instruction permit form using a cell phone while operating a motor vehicle. Provides exceptions for emergency situations.
Statute: 2005 Minn. Laws, Chap. 6
Penalties: Ability to get full license restricted.

Law: No television screen shall be installed or used in any motor vehicle where it is visible to the driver while operating the motor vehicle.
Statute: Minn. Stat. § 169.471 (2007)
Penalties: No penalty specified.
[back to top]

Mississippi

Restrictions on Cell Phone Use for Novice Drivers

Law: A person who is authorized to drive under an intermediate license, a temporary learning permit, or a temporary driving permit shall not operate a motor vehicle on a highway while using a cellular telephone or PDA to send or receive a written message while the motor vehicle is in motion.
Statute: Amending Section 63-1-9 of Mississippi Code 1972
Penalties: Misdemeanor, fine of up to $500.
[back to top]

Nebraska

Restrictions on Cell Phone Use for Novice Drivers
Video Screen Restriction
Ban on Texting While Driving

Law: Learner's permit and intermediate license holders younger than 18 may not use a cell phone or other wireless communication device.
Statute: L.B. 415
Penalties: No penalty specified.

Law: It is unlawful to operate upon any public highway a motor vehicle which is equipped with or in which is located a television set so placed that the viewing screen is visible to the driver while operating such vehicle.
Statute:R.R.S. Neb. § 60-6,287 (2008)
Penalties: Class V misdemeanor.

Law: Prohibits the use of hand-held electronic devices while driving to read or send written electronic messages.
Statute: L.B. 945
Penalties: $200 fine for a first offense, $300 fine for a second offense, and a $500 fine for any subsequent offense. Each offense would also include a deduction of 3 points from a violator's driving point system record.
[back to top]

Nevada

Video Screen Restriction
Ban on Texting While Driving

Law: A person shall not drive any motor vehicle equipped with television-type receiving equipment so located that the viewer or screen is visible from the driver's seat.
Statute: Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 484.639 (2007)
Penalties: No penalty specified.

Law: A person shall not manually type or enter text into a cellular telephone or other similar device, or to send or read data using any such device, while operating a motor vehicle.
Statute: S.B. 140 (2011)
Penalties: First Offense: $50 fine; Second Offense: $100 fine.
[back to top]

New Hampshire

Video Screen Restriction
Ban on Texting while Driving
Law: No person shall drive any motor vehicle equipped with any television viewer, screen or other means of visually receiving a television broadcast which is located in the motor vehicle at any point forward of the back of the driver's seat, or which is visible to the driver while driving the motor vehicle.
Statute: RSA 266:75 (2008)
Penalties: No penalty specified.

Law: Prohibits writing a text message and using two hands to type on or operate an electronic or telecommunications device while driving.
Statute: Pending approval by Governor.
Penalties: Violation $100 fine.
[back to top]

New Jersey

Video Screen Restriction
Hands-free Cell Phone Use Only
Ban on Texting While Driving
Restrictions on Cell Phone Use for Novice Drivers

Law: It shall be unlawful to operate upon any public highway a motor vehicle which is equipped with or in which is located a television set so placed that the viewing screen thereof is visible to the driver while operating such vehicle.
Statute: N.J. Stat. § 39:3A-1 (2008)
Penalties: No penalty specified.

Law: It is a primary offense for motorists to talk on or text message with hand-held wireless telephone or electronic communication device while driving.
Statute: S1099, S P.L.2007, c.198
Penalties: $100 or $250 fine. 

Law: Prohibits drivers younger than age 21 who have only learner's permit from using a mobile phone while driving.
Statute: N.J. rev. Stat. §39:3-19 (2005)
Penalties: $100 fine or 90-day permit suspension.
[back to top]

New Mexico

Video Screen Restriction

Law: It is unlawful to operate any motor vehicle equipped with a television screen upon which images may be projected or shown if the screen is within the normal view of the driver of the motor vehicle unless the television is used solely as an aid to the driver in the operation of the vehicle. As used in this section "television screen" does not include closed circuit monitors or computer terminal monitors used by law enforcement agencies in law enforcement motor vehicles.
Statute: N.M. Stat. Ann. § 66-7-358 (2008)
Penalties: No penalty specified.
[back to top]

New York

Hands-free Cell Phone Use Only
Video Screen Restriction
Ban on Texting While Driving

Law: Drivers prohibited from talking on handheld mobile telephone device while operating a motor vehicle.
Statute: N.Y. Veh. And Traffic Code §1225
Penalties: Not more than $100.

Law: TV Screen must not be visible to the driver.
Statute: NY CLS Veh & Traffc Code§ 375 (2008)
Penalties: No penalty specified.
[back to top]

North Carolina

Restrictions on Cell Phone Use for Novice Drivers
Video Screen Restriction
Ban on Texting While Driving

Law: Prohibits all drivers under age 18 from using a mobile telephone or technology associated with a mobile telephone while a motor vehicle is in motion. Provides exception for emergency situation. Also prohibits permit holders and provisional license holders from using a mobile telephone while operating a motor vehicle.
Statute: N.C. Gen. Stat. §20-137.3 (2006)
Penalties: $25 fine.

Law: No person shall drive any motor vehicle equipped with any television viewer, screen, or other means of visually receiving a television broadcast which is located in the motor vehicle at any point forward of the back of the driver's seat, or which is visible to the driver while operating the motor vehicle.
Statute: N.C. Gen. Stat. § 20-136.1 (2007)
Penalties: No penalty specified.

Law: Prohibits any person to operate a vehicle on a public street or highway while using a mobile telephone to send or read an electronic message.
Statute: HB 9 (2009)
Penalties: Class 2 misdemeanor and shall be punishable by a fine of not less than one hundred dollars ($100.00).
[back to top]

North Dakota
Ban on Texting While Driving
Restrictions on Cell Phone Use for Novice Drivers

Law: the operator of a motor vehicle that is part of traffic may not use a wireless communications device to compose, read, or send an electronic message.
Statute: North Dakota Century Code: 39-06.1-06 and section 39-06.1-09
Penalties: No penalty specified.

Law: Restricts individuals, at least 14 years of age with a class D instructional permit, from operating electronic communication device while operating a vehicle
Statute: North Dakota Century Code: 39- 39-01-01
Penalties: No penalty specified.
[back to top]

Oklahoma

Video Screen Restriction
Restrictions on Cell Phone Use for Novice Drivers

Law: No motor vehicle operated on a highway can be equipped with television-type receiving equipment forward of the back of the driver's seat or otherwise visible to the driver.
Statute: 47 Okl. St. § 12-411 (2008)
Penalties: No penalty specified.

Law: Establishes that learner permits and intermediate Class D licenses may be suspended or canceled at the discretion of the Department for violation of restrictions for using a hand-held electronic device while operating a motor vehicle for non-life-threatening emergency purposes.
Statute: SB 1908
Penalties: Licenses may be suspended or canceled at the discretion of the Department.
[back to top]

Oregon

Restrictions on Cell Phone Use for Novice Drivers
Video Screen Restriction
Ban on Texting While Driving
Hands-free Cell Phone Use Only

Law: Learner's permit and intermediate license holders younger than 18 may not use a cell phone or other wireless communication device, except in emergencies.
Statute: Chapter No. 870; 2007 HB 2872
Penalties: Class D traffic violation.

Law: No motor vehicle operated on a highway can be equipped with television-type receiving equipment forward of the back of the driver's seat or otherwise visible to the driver.
Statute: ORS § 815.240 (2007)
Penalties: No penalty specified.

Law: Prohibits use of handheld cell phones by all drivers. Cell phones with hands-free attachments are allowable only for those over 18 years of age. Text messaging banned for all drivers.
Penalties: $142 plus costs.
[back to top]

Pennsylvania

Video Screen Restriction

Law: No motor vehicle operated on a highway can be equipped with television-type receiving equipment forward of the back of the driver's seat or otherwise visible to the driver.
Statute: 75 Pa.C.S. § 4527 (2007)
Penalties: No penalty specified.
[back to top]

Rhode Island

Restrictions on Cell Phone Use for Novice Drivers
Video Screen Restriction
Ban on Texting While Driving

Law: Prohibits drivers under age 18 from using any mobile telephone (including hands-free devices) while operating a motor vehicle.
Statute: R.I Gen. Laws 1-10-6.6 (2006)
Penalties: $200-$250 and loss of license until offender's 18th birthday.

Law: No television viewer, screen or other means of visually receiving a television broadcast can be located in the field of view of the operator of the vehicle.
Statute: R.I. Gen. Laws § 31-23-38 (2008)
Penalties: Fine of not more than $100.

Law: Prohibits sending, reading or writing a text message while driving.
Statute: S 0204 (2009)
Penalties: $85 for a first offense, $100 for the second offense and $125 for a third or subsequent offense.
[back to top]

South Carolina

Video Screen Restriction

Law: No television viewer, screen or other means of visually receiving a television broadcast can be located in the field of view of the operator of the vehicle.
Statute: S.C. Code Ann. § 56-5-4440 (2007)
Penalties: $100 or be imprisoned for not more than 30 days.
[back to top]

South Dakota

Video Screen Restriction

Law: No television viewer, screen, or other means of visually receiving a television broadcast can be located in the field of view of the operator of the vehicle.
Statute: S.D. Codified Laws § 32-15-9 (2008)
Penalties: Petty offense.
[back to top]

Tennessee

Restrictions on Cell Phone Use for Novice Drivers
Video Screen Restriction
Ban on Texting While Driving

Law: Learner's permit and intermediate license holders may not use a cell phone or other wireless communication device while driving.
Statute: Tenn. Code Ann. §55-50-311
Penalties: $50 fine and an additional 90 days to move up the ladder toward an unrestricted license.

Law: No television viewer, screen or other means of visually receiving a television broadcast can be located in the field of view of the operator of the vehicle.
Statute: Tenn. Code Ann. § 55-9-105
Penalties: Class C misdemeanor.
Law: No person while driving a motor vehicle on any public road or highway shall use a hand-held mobile telephone or a hand-held personal digital assistant to transmit or read a written message.
Statute: SB 393
Penalties: Class C misdemeanor.
[back to top]

Texas

Restrictions on Cell Phone Use for Novice Drivers
Video Screen Restriction

Law: Prohibits driver under age 18 from using a wireless communications device while operating a motor vehicle during the six months period following the original issuance of a class A, B or C license.
Statute: 2005 SB 1257
Penalties: No penalty specified.

Law: No television viewer, screen or other means of visually receiving a television broadcast can be located in the field of view of the operator of the vehicle while the vehicle is in motion.
Statute: Tex. Transp. Code § 547.611 (2007)
Penalties: No penalty specified.
[back to top]

Utah

Video Screen Restriction
Ban on Texting while Driving

Law: No television viewer, screen or other means of visually receiving a television broadcast can be located in the field of view of the operator of the vehicle.
Statute: Utah Code Ann. § 41-6a-1641 (2008)
Penalties: No penalty specified.

Law: Prohibits a person from using a handheld wireless communication device for text messaging or electronic mail communication while operating a moving motor vehicle on a highway in this state.
Statute: Amends 53-3-218
Penalties: No penalty specified.
[back to top]

Vermont

Video Screen Restriction
Restrictions on Cell Phone Use for Novice Drivers
Ban on Texting while Driving

Law: No motor vehicle operated on a highway can be equipped with television-type receiving equipment forward of the back of the driver's seat or otherwise visible to the driver.
Statute: 23 V.S.A. § 1095 (2007)
Penalties: No penalty specified.

Law: Prohibits texting while operating a moving motor vehicle on a highway. Prohibits individuals under 18 years of age from using any portable electronic device while operating a motor vehicle.
Statute: SB 280
Penalties: No penalty specified.
[back to top]

Virginia

Restrictions on Cell Phone Use for Novice Drivers
Video Screen Restriction
Ban on Texting while Driving

Law: Prohibits drivers under the age of 18 from operating a motor vehicle while using a cell phone.
Statute: Va. Code Ann. § 46.2-334.01
Penalties: No penalty specified.

Law: No television viewer, screen or other means of visually receiving a television broadcast can be located in the field of view of the operator of the vehicle.
Statute:Va. Code Ann. § 46.2-1077 (2008)
Penalties: No penalty specified.

Law: Prohibits operation of a motor vehicle on the highways in the Commonwealth while using any handheld personal communication device to manually enter multiple letters or text or to read a text message.
Statute: 46.2 -1078.1
Penalties: Traffic infraction, fine $20.
[back to top]

Washington

Ban on Texting While Driving
Hands-free Cell Phone Use Only
Video Screen Restriction
Restrictions on Cell Phone Use for Novice Drivers

Law: Prohibits text messaging while driving.
Statute: RCW § 46.61.668
Penalties: No penalty specified.

Law: Bans the use of cell phones while driving unless the driver is using a hands-free device.
Statute: RCW § 46.61.667
Penalties: No penalty specified.

Law: No television viewer, screen or other means of visually receiving a television broadcast can be located in the field of view of the operator of the vehicle.
Statute: RCW § 46.37.480
Penalties: No penalty specified.

Law: Prohibits the use of a wireless communications device by a person holding a driver's instruction permit or an intermediate license while driving a motor vehicle
Statute: SB 6345
Penalties: No penalty specified.
[back to top]

West Virginia

Restrictions on Cell Phone Use for Novice Drivers
Video Screen Restriction

Law: Prohibits the use of a handheld wireless communication device while driving by a minor holding a level one instruction permit or a level two intermediate driver's license.
Statute: Act No. 180; 2007 SB 412
Penalties: First offense: $25 fine; second offense: $50 fine; third offense: $75 fine.

Law: No television viewer, screen or other means of visually receiving a television broadcast can be located in the field of view of the operator of the vehicle.
Statute: W. Va. Code § 17C-15-42
Penalties: No penalty specified.
[back to top]

Wisconsin

Video Screen Restriction
Ban on Texting While Driving

Law: No motor vehicle can be equipped with television-type receiving equipment forward of the back of the driver's seat or otherwise visible to the driver.
Statute: Wis. Stat. § 346.89 (2007)
Penalties: No penalty specified.

Law: Prohibits a person from driving while composing or sending an electronic text message.
Statute: A.B. 496
Penalties: No penalty specified.
[back to top]

Wyoming

Ban on Texting While Driving
 
Law: Prohibits the use of electronic wireless communication devices for sending text or electronic mail messages while operating a motor vehicle.
Statute: W.S. 31-5-237
Penalties: No penalty specified.
[back to top